Main Content

You are here

  1. Home / 
  2. Your Georges River / 
  3. Partners & Stakeholders / 
  4. Local Government
  • email
  • print page

Local Government


Member Councils

The GRCCC was formed in 1979 and consists of eight councils including Bayside, City of Canterbury Bankstown, Campbelltown, Fairfield, Georges River, Liverpool City Council and Sutherland and Wollondilly Shire Councils. Their locations within the Georges River Catchment are shown in Figure 2.1. The catchment also includes other parts of Blacktown, Holroyd, Camden and Wollongong Councils which are not members of the GRCCC. Each Council is represented on the GRCCC by up to three Councillors.

Over the years the GRCCC has taken on many environmental issues. The GRCCC has become an effective lobby group, able to represent the needs of the Councils when dealing with government policies as they affect the Georges River.       

   Campbell Town      City of Canterbury Bankstowngeorges river councilliverpool logo feb 2016       wollondilly-logo   Bayside Logo


City of Canterbury Bankstown

The Georges River is an iconic feature of the Bankstown landscape, forming a natural boundary to the south and west of the city. Council uses a strategic catchment management approach to improve and sustain the River and its catchment through programs that monitor and improve water quality, reduce flooding and increase biodiversity.

Contact Information:

Postal:Lambeth Boardwalk, Picnic Point
City of Canterbury Bankstown
PO Box 8
Bankstown  NSW  1885
Phone: 9707 9000  Fax: 9707 9700

Customer Service Centre - Bankstown  8.30am to 5.00pm Monday to Friday
Civic Tower
66-72 Rickard Road
Bankstown, NSW  2200

Customer Service Centre - Campsie  9.00am to 5.00pm Monday to Friday
137 Beamish Street  CAMPSIE  NSW 2194

^ top of page


Campbelltown City Council

The Upper Georges River - Urban Sustainability Project is a large boost to Campbelltown City Councils management of the Upper Georges River. Campbelltown and Liverpool City Councils in association with Wollondilly Shire Council and the Liverpool Weir to Simmos on waterGeorges River Combined Councils Committee have secured funding for three years from 2007 to 2010 for the preparation and implementation of an Integrated Environmental Management Plan (EMP) for the Upper Georges River Catchment. In essence, the project is about partnerships and bringing together the key stakeholders responsible for managing the river and then working cooperatively to protect and preserve the upper catchment.

The Urban Sustainability Project builds on the work undertaken by Council's Environment Unit such as the development of Plans of Management, identification of threatened species and Councils Compliance Unit who work to ensure people do the right think for the river.

^ top of page

Fairfield City Council

Fairfield City Council is responsible for over 80 Km2 of the Georges River catchment and is dedicated to creating a clean and safe natural environment as well as increasing biodiversity and ecological health. To accomplish this task we have developed a comprehensive environmental management plan and spent over $2.7 million each year on innovative projects to improve the condition of the catchment. Through these efforts the catchment can be restored and preserved for future generations.Cockatoo in Tree

Contact Information

Fairfield City Council
PO Box 21
Fairfield NSW 1860

Administration Centre
86 Avoca Road, Wakeley
Open Monday to Friday 8.30am to 5.00pm
Phone: (02) 9725 0222

^ top of page


Georges River Council

The Georges River has been recognised by both Council and the local community as the number one environmental asset within the LGA.  Council has adopted a strategic approach to the management of the river to ensure maximum benefit is derived from those resources which are directed toward the preservation of the river and its catchment.  This approach is underpinned by a commitment that focuses on the implementation of recognised studies and plans, in partnership with the GRCCC and other key stakeholders.

Contact InformationJew Fish Point Reserve

Mailing address:
PO Box 205, 
Phone: 02 9330 6400

Customer Service Centres:
MacMahon and Dora Streets -8.30am-5.00pm Monday to Friday

Kogarah Library and Service Centre - 8.30am-5.00pm Monday to Friday



^ top of page

Liverpool City Council

Liverpool City Council faces a number of issues relating to the River such as water quality, weed infestation, vegetation disturbance and algal blooms. In response, Council implements and participates in a number of programs, including a joint sustainability project which aims to achieve a coordinated approach to the management of the Upper Georges River; bush regeneration works; weed control; water quality monitoring; responding to water pollution incidents; participation in the GRCCC; and developing a Waterways Asset Management Plan. 

Contact: Joel Daniels Ph: 9821 9504 or 0407 463 358

Contact InformationGeorges River Liverpool

Liverpool City Council Administration Building and Customer Service Centre
Ground-floor premises at 33 Moore St, Liverpool.
Monday - Friday, 8.30am - 5pm
In walking distance from Liverpool train station and the Moore Street T-Way bus stop

Mailing Address:
Locked Bag 7064 
Liverpool BC  1871

Phone:  1300 36 2170
Fax: 02 9821 9188

^ top of page


Bayside Council

To ensure the protection and sustainable management of Bayside's nationally significant waterways, Council continues to focus its efforts on long term water quality monitoring, proactive stormwater management and community awareness campaigns.

Contact InformationGeorges River

Rockdale Customer Service Centre - Ph 1300 581 299
444-446 Princes Highway, ROCKDALE NSW 2216
Open Mon-Fri 8.30am - 4.30pm  Sat 9am to 1pm

Mascot Customer Service Centre  - Ph 1300 581 299
141 Coward Street MASCOT  NSW  2020
Open Mon-Fri 8:30am - 4.30pm



^ top of page


Sutherland Shire Council

Sutherland Shire is located at the southern coastal border of the Sydney metropolitan region. It covers an area of 370 sq. kms and has a population of approximately 215,000, making it one of the largest council areas by population in Australia. Geography ranges from beaches, wetlands, bays and rivers, to tablelands dissected by deep river valleys and gorges.

The Shire's boundaries are the Georges River in the north, Deadman's Creek, and Woronora Dam in the west, the Royal National Park in the south and the Pacific Ocean in the east.

Contact InformationKurnell Silver Beach

Administration Centre
4-20 Eton Street

Phone: 9710 0333
Fax: 9710 0265

Customer Service Details:
Open hours - Administration Centre
Monday to Friday 8.30am-4.30pm (excluding public holidays).

^ top of page


Wollondilly Shire Council

Only 75 square kilometres of the Upper Georges River catchment falls with Wollondilly Shire and the majority of this falls within drinking water supply catchments. The catchment extends north from its starting point 5 km south-east of Appin in a heath area and flows through rugged sandstone gorges until it reaches the urban area of Glenfield.  

Contact InformationGeorges River downstream from Appin Bulli Road

Wollondilly Shire Council,
PO Box 21

Telephone: 02 4677 1100
Fax: 02 4677 2339

Council Management Contact Information

Helen Arnott
Stormwater Projects Officer
Wollondilly Shire Council
PO Box 21 PICTON   NSW  2571

Tel:    (02) 4677 1122
Fax:   (02) 4677 1831

^ top of page